Happy Mother’s Day!

13 May

Back when my mom had big hair and I hardly had any.

Dear Mom,
Thank you for all your hard work and your incredible fighting spirit in keeping me and your other two kids secure and sane, and for supporting me 100 percent in the pursuit of my craziest dreams. I know that it hasn’t been easy for you and that I don’t show my appreciation for you enough, but today I want you to know that I love you every day and am thankful for you. I’m proud to say that I get my strength from you (Plus the inflated eight-year obsession for American Idol that started with you and the tendency to scream at my TV while watching sports). Like mother, like daughter. I love you!

Big love and special thanks to the other matriarchs in my family, my maternal and paternal grandmothers. To every mother out there and to all my readers’ mothers, wishing you all a very Happy Mother’s Day!

5 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!”

  1. Emma May 13, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Awww, so sweet! My mom got me into American Idol as well. ENABLERS!! :P

    • Karen Datangel May 13, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

      Gotta love our moms for that! I’m just a little bit bummed that I got into it much more than she did while she got into it a little bit less. Must’ve witnessed all my emotional breakdowns over it. My bad, Mom! Haha.

      • Emma May 13, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

        My mom and I are the opposite…she’s still watching and I’m totally over it. xD Though she’s starting to get really bored with watching this season. “Its the same kind of singers and the judges make all the same comments, and the same person always wins…” Yep, that’s why I stopped watching, Ma! LOL.

  2. Elizabeth Rosalyn (@ElizabethThe) May 13, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    What a lovely tribute! <3
    My Mom got me hooked on Idol by pure accident, haha.

    • Karen Datangel May 13, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

      Thank you! And thank you to my mother for inspiring me to write this! <3

      Haha, so how was it "pure accident"?

Comment on this post

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 513 other followers

