The new year arrived early!

29 Dec

I hope all of you had a wonderful holiday weekend and are ready to ring in the new year! I know I am!

I was so ready to put the lowest of lows in 2011 behind me, but things have looked up late into the year and have given me so much to smile about once again. I’ve been super stoked about a couple of opportunities that have fallen into place recently: First is that I have a job again! Second day in. I can’t really talk too much about it because we’re kind of going stealth, so I’ll just say that it’s a part-time customer service position at a really cool and innovative company. I’m really happy to offer my support to them and to people, and really, just to be working again. I was such a damned depressed hermit for the past few weeks and I think it feels absolutely wonderful just to be out of the house, productive, and with people.

The second thing is more aligned with my aspirations: I’m beyond psyched to let you all know that I have been selected as a publicity intern for the 2012 San Francisco International Asian American Film Festival! I was really excited when I saw that they were offering internships and that you didn’t have to be a current college student, because I really wanted the chance to apply and further build on my skills in industries related to journalism and media. Having volunteered for the past couple of festivals and having enjoyed my experience, becoming an intern seemed like a great way to be further involved. It combines a lot of things that I’m passionate about—film, the Asian-American community, promoting events and movies, and working directly with people in my industry. It’s going to be off the hook (Do people still say that?)! I’ll be starting sometime early next month up until the festival in mid-to-late March, on days I’ll have off from work.

I’m completely and beyond floored by how many people have been checking out Karen On in the past week. Like, people are actually following and subscribing to me now and leaving me comments and messages. WHAT???! WordPress, why me? But I guess this is also a good time for me to shamelessly plug a couple of my entertainment year-end lists: 8 TV Shows I Started Watching (And Am Now Completely Enamored With) and The Songs That Wrote My Year. My list of favorite films should be up tomorrow if all goes well. That’s the one I’m most psyched about, obviously.

I have so much more to publicly reflect on about the year past and the year ahead, so keep it here for more mushy/emo posts. Let’s hope I can find the time with my new work schedule…

Comment on this post

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 513 other followers

